Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence


Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence


This guide can help potential Baldrige applicants decide on approaches to quality improvement; improve communication, productivity, and effectiveness; and achieve strategic goals. It includes a self-analysis worksheet, scoring system, and scoring guidelines.

The requirements of the Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence are embodied in the following seven categories:

  1. Leadership
  2. Strategic planning
  3. Customer focus
  4. Measurement, analysis, and knowledge management
  5. Workforce focus
  6. Process management
  7. Results


Baldrige National Quality Program at NIST

Funding Sources:

National Institute of Standards and Technology


Original Summary: November 2010
Last Updated: 06/13/12

QualityTool Classification

Disclaimer: The inclusion of a tool in the Innovations Exchange does not constitute or imply an endorsement by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality or Westat of the tool or of the submitter or developer of the tool. Read more.

This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify. This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information: verify here.